HomeSports NewsCape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha to host Women's T20 World Cup

Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha to host Women’s T20 World Cup

Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth) have been named the hosts of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in February 2023. Cricket South Africa also announced that the Women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup would be hosted in Benoni and Potchefstroom.

“The Eastern and Western Cape are prime cricket and tourist locations with great facilities and infrastructure,” tournament director, Russell Adams said. “We have no doubt that these venues will step up to make this a memorable and uniquely African celebration of cricket for the local and international fans attending the event.”

The T20 World Cup will be a ten-team event. South Africa have qualified as the host, while Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies will all take part. The two remaining sides will be decided via a qualifying tournament. Australia are the defending champions and previous hosts, beating India in the final in front of a full house at the MCG in March 2020. The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in 2022, but was moved to 2023 because of the reshuffle forced by Covid-19 pandemic.

This will be the first edition of the Women’s U-19 T20 World Cup. It was scheduled originally for 2021, but the pandemic delayed that as well. Sixteen teams will take part in the tournament.

“This is a special time for women’s cricket in South Africa, we are excited to be host of the inaugural U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup and look forward to the spotlight focusing on the world’s best cricketers,” Sivuyile Mqingwana, the U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup tournament director, said. “We hope all the players taking part will enjoy their time on the big stage and more young girls will pick up the bat and ball to play the game.”

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments