HomeSports NewsCPL 2022 draft - Shai Hope moves to Guyana Amazon Warriors, Rahkeem...

CPL 2022 draft – Shai Hope moves to Guyana Amazon Warriors, Rahkeem Cornwall joins Barbados Royals

Shai Hope has been drafted by Guyana Amazon Warriors at the Caribbean Premier League draft for the 2022 edition after previously being part of Barbados Royals. Rahkeem Cornwall has moved from St Lucia Kings to Royals, while Joshua Da Silva returned to St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, and Jamaica Tawallahs have picked up batter Amir Jangoo and seam bowler Raymon Reifer.

Ackeem Auguste, who captained the West Indies side at the U-19 World Cup earlier this year, has been roped in by Kings. Kings and Patriots are yet to fill one further slot for an overseas player, who has not yet been announced.

There is a significant international presence at the CPL this year, with South African wicketkeeper-batter Quinton de Kock making his first appearance at the tournament. He, alongside fellow South African David Miller, will play for Royals, who have also brought in Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman and Pakistan batter Azam Khan. Fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who will play for Tawallahs, and offspinner Qasim Akram (Royals) are the other Pakistanis at the CPL this year.

Sri Lanka spinners Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana are also set to make their CPL debuts in the forthcoming season after having been signed by Patriots and Trinbago Knight Riders.

Warriors have added a rich South African flavour to their set-up. They have signed up Imran Tahir, the leading bowler for the franchise with 60 wickets from 43 outings, for a fifth successive season. Additionally, they have also included wristspinner Tabraiz Shamsi, batter Colin Ingram and wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen for the upcoming season alongside Paul Stirling, the Ireland opener.

The CPL, which will be held across Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago will begin on August 31, with the final to be played in Guyana on September 30. Patriots are the defending champions, having beaten Kings in the final last year to win their maiden CPL title.

CPL 2022 squads:

Barbados Royals: Quinton De Kock, Jason Holder, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Obed Mccoy, Kyle Mayers, Azam Khan, Hayden Walsh, Oshane Thomas, Rahkeem Cornwall, Devon Thomas, Joshua Bishop, Justin Greaves, Corbin Bosch, Nyeem Young, Teddy Bishop, Ramon Simmonds

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sherfane Rutherford, Dwaine Pretorius, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Dewald Brevis, Izharul Haq Naveed, Johsua Da Silva, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Keacy Carty, Kelvin Pittman, Jaden Carmichael, Qasim Akram

Jamaica Tallawahs: Rovman Powell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fabian Allen, Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Mohammad Amir, Shamarh Brooks, Migael Pretorius, Chris Green, Raymon Reifer, Jamie Merchant, Amir Jangoo, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk Mckenzie, Joshua James

St Lucia Kings: Faf du Plessis, Tim David, Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, David Wiese, Alzarri Joseph, Scott Kuggeleijn, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal, Matthew Forde, Leroy Lugg, Preston Mcsween, Larry Edwards, Ackeem Auguste, Rivaldo Clarke

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Imran Tahir, Shimron Hetmyer, Tabraiz Shamsi, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Colin Ingram, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shai Hope, Paul Stirling, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Jermaine Blackwood, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Colin Munro, Akeal Hosein, Maheesh Theekshana, Tim Seifert, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan, Tion Webster, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Terrance Hinds, Leonardo Julien, Shaaron Lewis, Ravi Rampaul

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments