HomeSports NewsKeshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada and Ayabonga Khaka among big winners at Cricket...

Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada and Ayabonga Khaka among big winners at Cricket South Africa awards

Ayabonga Khaka won the women’s Player of the Year, with Laura Wolvaardt winning the ODI prize. Lizelle Lee, who retired from international cricket earlier this year, was given the T20 Women’s player of the Year. Khaka and Maharaj won the players’ nominations for Player of the Year as well.

Rabada took 43 wickets in his last eight Tests at 19.34 as South Africa, including seven in a game against India and eight in a match against New Zealand, as South Africa wrapped up series wins against West Indies, India and New Zealand. Maharaj claimed 71 wickets across formats, including a Test hat-trick against the West Indies, and two seven-wicket hauls.

Malan averaged a shade under 50 in 17 ODIs since April, including two hundreds and four half-centuries, while Markram had a stellar T20I World Cup and scored 391 runs across the season, rising to No. 3 in the T20I batting rankings. Khaka was the joint-fourth joint-highest wicket-taker at the Women’s World Cup earlier this year.

Nonkululeko Mlaba was given the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award, which CSA said, “celebrates the perseverance, passion and the overwhelming pride of people who have used their talent to change their circumstances.”

“I warmly congratulate our winners in all international, domestic, and amateur levels,” CSA chief executive Pholetsi Moseki said. “The players have endured a lot during the past two years as the COVID-19 pandemic challenged the conditions of our game. Our teams’ tenacity is seen in the improvement of our national teams and the opportunities that our pipeline continues to provide nationwide.

“We look forward to the upcoming action-packed season as South Africa gets to host the inaugural ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and the ICC Under 19 Women’s T20 World Cup in 2023.”

CSA awards in domestic cricket for 2021-22
Umpire of the year – Allahudien Paleker
Newcomer of the season – Mitchell van Buuren (Lions)
SACA Most Valuable Player – Sisanda Magala
Division one coach of the season – Mandla Mashimbyi (Titans)
Division two coach of the season – Mark Charlton (Northern Cape Heat)
T20 knockout competition (Provincial T20 Cup) player of the tournament – Rilee Rossouw (Knights)
T20 challenge player of the season – Pieter Malan (Boland)
Division one four-day player of the season – Ryan Rickelton (Lions)
Division two four-day player of the season – Thomas Kaber (Eastern Cape Iinyathi)
Division one one-day cup player of the season Sisanda Magala (Lions)
Division two one-day cup player of the season – Michael Erlank (Tuskers)
Domestic players’ player of the season – Sisanda Magala

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments